REGIONAL, REMOTE AND METROPOLITAN PUBLIC FORUMS

One of the first priorities for the Royal Commission was to undertake a series of public forums and community meetings to engage with people from across the state who wanted to be provided with further information and have a say on this important matter.

Between April and August 2015, the Royal Commission visited a range of remote, regional and metropolitan communities in South Australia.

A further series of public forums and community meetings was then undertaken in September and October. Additional meetings are now being planned for November and December to update the community on progress so far, and key themes of the Commission’s investigations.

A list of locations the Royal Commission will visit and where community information sessions will be held can be found below.

 

  • Regional & Remote Engagement Series One - April & May 2015

    –  20 April 2015 – Mount Gambier 12.00pm at the City Hall

    –  30 April 2015 – Port Augusta – 5.30pm at the Institute Theatre

    –  01 May 2015 – Port Pirie – 12.00pm at the Port Pirie Regional Council Chambers

    –  05 May 2015 – Berri – 12.00pm at the Berri Town Hall

    –  11 May 2015 – Yalata – 11.00am at the Yalata Social Club

    –  12 May 2015 – Oak Valley – 10.30am at the Oak Valley Training Centre

    –  13 May 2015 – Umuwa (in the APY Lands) – 11.00am at the Umuwa Training Centre

    –  14 May 2015 – Coober Pedy – 10.30am at the Italo Australian Miners Club

    –  18 May 2015 – Leigh Creek – 12.00pm at the Leigh Creek Tavern

    –  19 May 2015 – University of South Australia – 5.30pm at the Mawson Lakes Centre (MC1-02)

    –  20 May 2015 – Flinders University  5.00pm at Flinders at Tonsley – Lecture Theatre 1, South Road, Clovelly Park

    –  22 May 2015 – Adelaide University – 1.00pm at Bonython Hall

  • Regional & Remote Engagement Series Two - June, July & August 2015

    –  Tuesday, 23 June 2015 – Coober Pedy – 5.00pm – Italo Australian Miners Club – Italian Club Road, Coober Pedy

    –  Thursday, 2 July 2015 – Oak Valley – 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Friday, 3 July 2015 – Ceduna – 11.00am – Ceduna Foreshore Hotel –  32 O’Loughlin Terrace, Ceduna  

    –  Monday, 6 July 2015 – Port Lincoln– 5.30pm – the Nautilus Arts Centre (Media Room) – 62 Tasman Terrace

    –  Monday, 13 July 2015 – Adelaide 12.00pm – Marion Cultural Centre – 287 Diagonal Road, Oaklands Park *** 

    –  Tuesday, 14 July 2015 – Port Augusta – 5.30pm – Institute Theatre – 52 Commercial Road, Port Augusta 

    –  Wednesday, 15 July 2015 – Whyalla – 5.30pm – Whyalla Library – 7-9 Ekblom Street, Whyalla Norrie

    –  Thursday, 16 July 2015 – Port Pirie – 5.30pm – Port Pirie Council Chambers, 115 Ellen Street, Port Pirie

    –  Friday, 17 July 2015 – Adelaide – 12.00pm – Ken McMahon Hall – 17-19 Wiltshire Street Salisbury ***

    –  Monday, 20 July 2015 – Ernabella 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Tuesday, 21 July 2015 – Fregon – 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Monday, 27 July 2015 – Mimili – 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Tuesday, 28 July 2015 – Indulkana – 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Thursday, 30 July 2015 – Ceduna – 6.00pm – Ceduna Memorial Hall, 31 Poynton Street, Ceduna

    –  Tuesday, 4 August 2015 – Amata 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Wednesday, 5 August 2015 – Kanpi 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    –  Thursday, 6 August 2015 – Pipalyatjara 11.00am – Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

     

     

    *** Kaurna and other members of Adelaide’s Aboriginal community

  • Regional & Remote Engagement Series Three - September & October 2015

    The visits confirmed for September are:


    – Wednesday, 2 September 2015 – Berri – 6.00pm at the Berri Town Hall, Council Chambers

    – Tuesday, 8 September 2015 – Mount Gambier – 6.00pm  at the Main Corner Complex City Hall, Civic Centre

    – Thursday, 10 September 2015 – Renmark – 6.00pm  at the Galaxy Room, Renmark Hotel

    – Monday, 14 September 2015 – Ernabella – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Tuesday, 15 September 2015 – Fregon – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Wednesday, 16 September 2015 – Mimili – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Thursday, 17 September 2015 – Indulkana – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Thursday, 17 September 2015 – Coober Pedy – 6.00pm at the Italo Australian Miners club

    – Tuesday, 22 September 2015 – Amata – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Wednesday, 23 September 2015 – Kanpi – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Thursday, 24 September 2015 – Pipalyatjara – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Monday, 28 September 2015 – Yalata – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Monday, 28 September 2015 – Ceduna – 6.00pm at the Ceduna Foreshore Hotel/Motel

    – Tuesday, 29 September 2015 – Oak Valley – 11.00am. Community Information Session followed by BBQ lunch

    – Tuesday, 29 September 2015 – Marree – 6.00pm  at the Maree Town Hall

     – Tuesday, 13 October 2015 – Port Lincoln – 12 midday at Port Lincoln Hotel

    – Tuesday, 13 October 2015 – Whyalla – 6:00pm at the Whyalla Library (Vicki Ledo Room)

    – Wednesday, 14 October 2015 – Port Augusta – 6:00pm at the Institute Theatre

    – Thursday, 22 October 2015 – Port Pirie – 6:00pm at the RPP Yacht Club

     

     

     

    ** Further regional and remote visits are being finalised.

  • Regional & Remote Engagement Series Four - November and December 2015

    The following visits are confirmed** for November and December:-

    – Monday, 23 November 2015 at Ceduna (6:00pm), Ceduna Foreshore Hotel.

    – Thursday, 26 November 2015 at Mt Gambier (6:00pm), Quality Inn Presidential.

    – Monday, 30 November 2014 at Coober Pedy (6:00pm), Opal Inn.

    – Wednesday, 2 December 2015 at Berri (12 noon), Berri Library

    – Wednesday, 2 December 2015 at Renmark (6:00pm). Galaxy Room, Renmark Hotel.

    – Thursday, 3 December 2015 at Port Pirie (6:00pm). Port Pirie Yacht Club.

    – Tuesday, 8 December 2015 at Port Lincoln (6:00pm), Lincoln Ballroom, Port Lincoln Hotel.

    – Wednesday, 9 December at Whyalla (6:00pm), Whyalla Public Library.

    – Thursday, 10 December at Port Augusta (6:00pm). Institute Theatre, Commercial Road.

    **Further details on other meetings to be uploaded shortly.